Gordon’s Music Hall of Fame

Welcome to Gordon’s Music Hall of Fame. Here you’ll find a collection of artists, albums and songs that have earned special status in the musical life of Gordon Elgart. The committee makes decisions for induction based on the following criteria:

Gordon’s Music Hall of Fame is for music that has a significant and long lasting impact on the life of Gordon Elgart. Artists are nominated by Gordon, and then voted on by the committee. Albums and songs must be by artists that are not themselves Hall of Fame members or nominees, and become eligible 10 years after their release. Compilation albums are eligible, if that compilation itself had greater impact on Gordon that the artist’s individual albums. If an artist later becomes a member or nominee, their work does not get removed from the Hall of Fame. The committee is also able to elect “special” inductees as well, for anything musical that does not meet the usual eligibility requirements. These items will be designated as Contributing Members, but will have the full membership benefits of other Hall of Fame inductees. There is no limit to how many inductions there can be in any given year.

The Hall of Fame was established in 2013. There is no plaque ceremony as of yet, and unfortunately no monster jam session at the end of the ceremony, either.

The Members of Gordon’s Music Hall of Fame


(Links go to a Spotify playlist for the artist with 60-75 minutes of music. Some artists don’t participate in online music streaming and do  not have a link)

The Beatles

Adrian Belew

Belle & Sebastian

Ben Folds (for Ben Folds Five and solo work)

Billy Joel

Bloc Party

David Bowie

Death Cab For Cutie

The Decemberists

The Doors

Dream Theater


Emerson Lake and Palmer

Elton John

Fish (For solo work and his time in Marillion)

Foo Fighters

George Michael (For solo work and Wham!)

Green Day

Iron Maiden


Jim Steinman

Led Zeppelin

Linkin Park

Living Colour


Moxy Fruvous


Neal Morse (For Spock’s Beard, Transatlantic, and solo work)

Neil Finn (For Split Enz, Crowded House and solo work)

Paul Heaton (For The Housemartins and The Beautiful South)

Paul Simon

Peter Gabriel


Pink Floyd

The Polyphonic Spree

Porcupine Tree




Robbie Williams


Stevie Wonder

Talking Heads

Tears For Fears

They Might Be Giants

The Who




Film Composers

James Horner

John Barry

John Williams

Roy Budd


Abba – Gold
Adam Ant – Antics From the Forbidden Zone
Andrew W.K. – I Get Wet
Depeche Mode – Violator
Electric Six – Fire
Guns ‘n Roses – Appetite For Destruction
Guys and Dolls Revival – Broadway Recording
Jeff Buckley – Grace
Jethro Tull – Thick as a Brick
Joe Jackson – Look Sharp
Judas Priest – Painkiller
Jurassic 5 – Power in Numbers
KISS – Double Platinum
Les Miserables – Original Broadway Recording
Live – Throwing Copper
Masters of Reality – Masters of Reality
Meat Loaf – Bat Out of Hell
Michael Jackson – Thriller
Midnight Oil – 20,000 Watt R.S.L.
New Order – Substance
Pretty Girls Make Graves – The New Romance
Primus – Frizzle Fry
Queensryche – Operation Mindcrime
Queensryche – Empire
R.E.M. – Green
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Mother’s Milk
Rent – Original Broadway Recording
Stone Temple Pilots – Purple
Styx – Greatest Hits
T. Ride – T. Ride
The Dismemberment Plan – Emergency and I
The KLF – The White Room
The Postal Service – Give Up
Toy Matinee – Toy Matinee
Venus Hum – Big Beautiful Sky


Bruce Springsteen – Thunder Road
Dead or Alive – You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)
Deee-Lite – Groove is in the Heart
Dexy’s Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen
Donna Summer – I Feel Love
Eric B & Rakim – Paid in Full (Seven Minutes of Madness – Coldcut Remix)
Fishbone – Party at Ground Zero
Focus – Hocus Pocus
Iron Butterfly – In A Gadda Da Vita
K7 – Come Baby Come
Madness – One Step Beyond
MC Hammer – U Can’t Touch This
Oingo Boingo – No One Lives Forever
Pretty Girls Make Graves – Speakers Push the Air
Pulp – Common People
Sparks – This Town Ain’t Big Enough For the Both of Us
Sweet – Ballroom Blitz
Young MC – Bust a Move

Special Inductees

Screaming Headless Torsos live at The Iron Horse in Northampton in 1997
Blur at Glastonbury 2009
Giorgio Moroder, producer
Flogging Molly in Melbourne in 2007
The Treasure Island Music Festival

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: